June 19th, 2024 AAAA
Wed 19 June 2024
Warszawa (PL)
Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri
27 28 29 24 27
Wed 19 June 2024
Praha (CZ)
Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri
28 30 29 29 31
Wed 19 June 2024
Bratislava (SK)
Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri
27 30 31 29 31
Wed 19 June 2024
Budapest (HU)
Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri
29 31 34 33 33


Official website of the Czech Republic


Official website of Poland


International Visegrad Fund

Think Visegrad


Press Release: Official Summit of the Prime Ministers of Visegrad Group Countries

Prague, June 15–16, 2008

Prime Minister of the Czech Republic Mirek Topolánek, Prime Minister of the Republic of Hungary Ferenc Gyurcsány, Prime Minister of the Republic of Poland Donald Tusk and Prime Minister of the Slovak Republic Robert Fico met at the official summit of the Prime Ministers of the Visegrad Group countries (V4) in Prague on the 15th and 16th June 2008.

The heads of governments of the V4 countries evaluated the Czech Presidency in the Visegrad Group (June 2007–June 2008) and the V4+ formats, the inter-ministerial cooperation and the activities of the International Visegrad Fund. The Executive Director of the International Visegrad Fund, Mr. Kristóf Forrai, presented the increase of the Fund's activities since 2007, when the annual IVF budget has reached EUR 5 mil.
The Presidency of the Visegrad Group was officially handed over to Poland and the Programme of the upcoming Polish Presidency was presented and endorsed.
Among the topics of the meeting were also preparations for the Czech Presidency in the Council of the EU, with special attention to the Visegrad cooperation priorities.
The Prime Ministers supported the idea of strengthening the Eastern dimension of the European Neighbourhood Policy and agreed that the "Eastern Partnership" is a good way forward. They also discussed regional cooperation in the fields of EU enlargement, support to the Western Balkans and Eastern European issues in general.
The Visegrad Group countries also mentioned the opportunity to jointly commemorate the 20th anniversary of the fall of the Iron Curtain and the 5th anniversary of the V4 countries' entry into the EU during the next year.

© 2006–2023, International Visegrad Fund.
Pageviews this month: 28,628